Gina Carano Fans Set #WeLoveCaraDune Trend Hour For THIS Saturday!

in Star Wars

gina carano mandalorian women

Credit: Lucasfilm/Disney

The Mandalorian actress Gina Carano has garnered a great deal of attention on social media in recent months.

gina-carano-disneyland-star-wars-galaxys-edge
Credit: Disney

Related: ‘The Mandalorian’: Gina Carano’s Cara Dune Could Be Recast or Removed Altogether

Gina Carano’s Cara Dune has appeared in both seasons of Jon Favreau and Dave Filoni’s hit series, The Mandalorian, on Disney+. The Star Wars character’s Season 2 story arc largely involved her making the decision to become a New Republic Marshal at the behest of X-wing pilot Carson Teva (Paul Sun-Hyung Lee).

This has led to rumors that Dune is set to be the main protagonist in the Mandalorian spinoff series Rangers of the New Republic. Disney and Lucasfilm executives have yet to confirm this, however.

When we last saw Dune in The Mandalorian Season 2 finale episode (“Chapter 16: The Rescue”), she was joining forces with fellow women of the Star Wars galaxy — Fennec Shand (Ming-Na Wen), Bo-Katan Kryze (Katee Sackhoff), and Nite Owl Koska Reeves (Mercedes Varnado/Sasha Banks) — to help titular Mandalorian Din Djarin (Pedro Pascal) rescue Grogu from Moff Gideon (Giancarlo Esposito) and his Dark Trooper droids.

women of the mandalorian
Credit: Lucasfilm/Disney

Related: Gina Carano Speaks Out About “Smear Campaign” Against Her

In her personal life, former women’s MMA fighter Carano has become well-known for sharing her opinions about political and social justice issues on her Twitter account. These posts have been divisive, with Twitter users causing opposing hashtags — #WeLoveCaraDune, #IStandWithGinaCarano, and #FireGinaCarano — to trend over the past several months.

In the latest Gina Carano social media news, the actress’s supporters are organizing a “trend hour” for this Saturday, January 30, 2021.

Twitter user Ashley has been sharing digital assets for those who wish to participate in the online event. His latest post read:

Another digital asset for the upcoming #WeLoveCaraDune trend next Saturday. You can RT to spread the word, or direct download by clicking here: imgur.com/a/FZBVw1P > Right click > Save image as > Save. Then post to Twitter! Let’s make some noise and support @ginacarano!

Related: Jon Favreau Reportedly Stops Disney From Firing ‘Mandalorian’ Star Gina Carano

Many Carano fans are already getting into the spirit of the latest #WeLoveCaraDune campaign. Twitter user Jenna responded to a post Gina shared on Saturday with the following comment:

A few hundred relentless bullies on Twitter do not speak for the millions of fans who love you and Cara Dune. Can’t wait to see more of you in The Mandalorian! #WeLoveCaraDune

Related: #FireGinaCarano Goes Wild as Fans React to Capitol Riots

John Hulen also shared a post with details about this weekend’s Cara Dune trend hour, simply captioned with the #WeLoveCaraDune hashtag again.

A Carano fan named Jacob expressed his opinion about the controversy surrounding the Star Wars actress:

#istandwithginacarano #WeLoveCaraDune #ginacarano Sad when we have to defend free speech and their opinions.

Related: Gina Carano Is “In Love” With ‘Star Wars,’ Won’t Be Silenced

Another fan, Brian Buchanan, posted about the trend hour:

Alert! Beep bop boop! Alert! Now hear this; #IStandWithGinaCarano #WeLoveCaraDune That is all, carry out the plan of the week.

Related: Gina Carano on Why She Has NOT Seen ‘The Mandalorian’ Season 2

Carano has not only received support from fans but also from her Mandalorian co-stars. Pascal, Sackhoff, and Wen, in particular, have expressed nothing but love for the actress and her place in the Star Wars universe. As previously stated, at this time, Cara Dune’s future storyline has not been announced.

In addition to Dune’s reported spinoff, Rangers of the New Republic — which may also feature Carl Weathers (Greef Karga) per some unconfirmed reports — Lucasfilm has confirmed two other Mandalorian spinoff shows, Ahsoka and The Book of Boba Fett.

Ahsoka will showcase Rosario Dawson reprising her role as Ahsoka Tano and The Book of Boba Fett will feature Temuera Morrison and Wen as original trilogy bounty hunter, Boba Fett, and Fennec Shand, respectively.

THE MANDALORIAN, Season 2
© 2020 Lucasfilm Ltd. & ™. All Rights Reserved.

Related: Lucasfilm Confirms 11 New ‘Star Wars’ Series on Disney+!

If you are interested in participating in the #WeLoveCaraDune trend hour this Saturday, it will occur at 9 p.m. GMT United Kingdom, 10 p.m. CET, 11 p.m. EET, 4 p.m. EST USA, 3 p.m. CST Time USA, 1 p.m. PST USA, and 8 a.m. (+1) Sunday morning ACT Australia.

Will you be showing your support for Gina Carano on social media this weekend?

View Comments (9)