UPDATED: All 50 states meet new travel ID requirements, passengers will not require passports to travel domestically

in Travel

UPDATE 1/18/18: As of this week, all 50 states have either met the January 22 deadline to become compliant with Real ID or have an extension to do so. Passengers will not require passports to travel domestically, and will be allowed to continue to use their driver’s licenses.

ORIGINAL POST 6/27/18: Traveling can already be difficult and frustrating. But starting soon, it’s going to get just a little bit harder for some travelers in the United States. Driver’s licenses from nine states will no longer be acceptable forms of identification at TSA checkpoints starting in 2018 for those traveling on commercial flights.

Driver’s licenses from nine states do not currently meet the requirements of the federal government’s security standards.

The nine states are:

  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • Washington

Starting next year a passport, military ID, or permanent resident card will be required to pass through TSA security at airports, unless changes are made to the licenses in these states.

The good news is that Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Washington have already moved forward with actions to make their state licenses Real ID compliant. Most, if not, all of these states should be ready to issue new licenses before the required deadline.

If all goes to plan, residents from these eight states may be able to avoid having to show a passport, military ID, or permanent resident card. But Kentucky isn’t so lucky.

As of now, Kentucky won’t have a Real ID license ready until 2019.

The TSA began placing signs around airport security checkpoints last week to inform passengers of the new regulations going into effect next year.

The Department of Homeland Security offers a handy map showing which states are in compliance with Real ID, which have received extensions to reach compliance, and which are not compliant:

Travelers who are not from these nine states will not be affected by the new regulation. However, by 2020 all travelers must have identification in compliance with the REAL ID Act of 2005. Currently, only 24 states meet those standards.

Source: Travel + Leisure



  1. Avatar


    I’ll board a plane naked with four forms of ID if that’s what it takes for a safer flight–although, I don’t know where I’ll keep all those IDs…?

  2. Avatar

    Are We Becoming NAZI America Now? Are We A SOCIALIST Nation? Just How Many FREEDOMS Must The “AMERICAN Citizens” Lose in the Name of Security?

    Already We Have Lost our 4th &14th Amendment rights… Think Not?
    The 4th Amendment says – The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

    Every Time you fly, you are searched, frisked, and photographed by TSA Agents. In Effect, You Are Being Presumed Guilty, until Found Innocent.

    14th – Section 1.

    All persons born or naturalized in the United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United States and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

    Our Freedoms ARE Under Attack… STOP Voting people into office who think that a one world government IS what Is Best For America.

    1. Avatar


      I don’t believe flying is a guaranteed right or privilege. Thus there can and likely should be reasonable measures in place to protect your own and others’ live which IS protected.

      If you feel you not want to submit to the measures put in place by the TSA, don’t. There are other means of transportation that offer less risk to your fellow citizens, and thus less/no security.

Comments are closed.