Marvel announces Phase 3 films: Doctor Strange, Black Panther, Captain Marvel, Inhumans adding to Avengers sequels

in Disney, Marvel, Movies

Marvel held a secret special event at Hollywood’s El Capitan Theater this afternoon to announce their massive lineup of upcoming movies. Moving into Phase Three of the Marvel Cinematic Universe, Marvel revealed 9 new movies planned from 2016 to 2019.

Marvel Studios president Kevin Feige took the stage to reveal the upcoming line-up…

Video: FULL Marvel Phase 3 announcement with clips, Robert Downey Jr, Chris Evans

The biggest news of the event was the announcement of a 2-part Avengers movie, “The Avengers: Infinity War” with the first part to be released May 4, 2018, followed by part 2 on May 3, 2019.

Initially announced as “Captain America: Serpent Society” as a teaser/joke, Feige later revealed the real title to be “Captain America: Civil War,” hitting theaters May 16, 2016.

Stars Robert Downey Jr (Iron Man) and Chris Evans (Captain America) took the stage as the title was officially revealed.

Joining them on stage was actor Chadwick Boseman, newly announced to play the lead role in “Black Panther,” due out November 3, 2017.


Also officially announced, rounding out Phase Three:

Doctor Strange – November 4, 2016 (bringing the supernatural to the Marvel universe)

Guardians of the Galaxy 2 – May 5, 2017 (moved up)

Thor: Ragnarok – July 28, 2017 (Tom Hiddleston returns as Loki)

Captain Marvel – July 6, 2018 (a female lead superhero!)

Inhumans – November 2, 2018 (with dozens of new characters)

After the main event ended, Kevin Feige joined a small group of reporters for a Q&A session to further discuss Phase 3.

Video: Full Marvel Studios Q&A with president Kevin Feige about MCU Phase 3

View Comments (7)