The Muppets to cover Nirvana’s ‘Smells Like Teen Spirit’, Cee Lo’s ‘Forget You’ on upcoming movie soundtrack

in Disney, Entertainment, Movies, Music

The soundtrack to the upcoming film “The Muppets” will feature 30 tracks of Muppetational hilarity including a few familiar songs performed in unfamiliar ways. The album will be released on November 21, 2011, two days before the film starring Jason Segal and Amy Adams hits theaters.

The Muppet Barbershop Quartet is listed on track 20 of the soundtrack as covering Nirvana’s smash hit “Smells Like Teen Spirit,” with former Nirvana drummer Dave Grohl even making a cameo appearance, backing the group on drums. Track 22 features Camilla and The Chickens performing the family-friendly version of Cee Lo Green’s “Forget You,” a perfect fit after Green’s performance wearing a colorful chicken suit at the 2011 Grammy Awards.

The film and soundtrack will also feature covers of Paul Simon’s “Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard” and Starship’s “We Built This City.”

Full soundtrack song listing for “The Muppets”:
1. The Muppet Show Theme – The Muppets
2. Muppet Studios, I Can’t Believe It – Walter
3. Life’s a Happy Song – Jason Segel, Amy Adams and Walter
4. I Haven’t Seen the Old Gang – Kermit and Jason Segel
5. Pictures in My Head – Kermit and The Muppets
6. We Drive – Kermit and Walter
7. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard – Paul Simon
8. That Spells Reno – 80’s Robot and Amy Adams
9. Rainbow Connection (Moopets Version) – The Moopets
10. Welcome Back – Kermit, Fozzie, Walter and Dr. Teeth
11. We Built This City – Starship
12. Party of One* – Sarah Silverman and Amy Adams
13. Me Party – Amy Adams and Miss Piggy
14. We Humbly Ask – Kermit and Chris Cooper
15. Let’s Talk About Me – Chris Cooper
16. The Answer Is No – Chris Cooper and Kermit
17. Are You a Man or a Muppet? – Amy Adams
18. Man or Muppet – Jason Segel and Walter
19. Down at the Ole Barbershop – Kermit
20. Smells Like Teen Spirit – The Muppet Barbershop Quartet
21. Princesses of Poultry – Kermit
22. Forget You – Camilla and The Chickens
23. It’s Time for Our Song – Kermit and Miss Piggy
24. Rainbow Connection – The Muppets
25. Get Out There and Help Those Guys – Jason Segel
26. The Whistling Caruso – Andrew Bird
27. How Charming, a Finale – Uncle Deadly
28. Life’s a Happy Song Finale – Entire Cast
29. Mary, Marry Me – Jason Segel and Amy Adams
30. Mah Na Mah Na – Mahna Mahna and The Two Snowths* Dialog Track

“The Muppets” hits theaters on November 23, 2011, with the soundtrack available two days prior, on November 21. It’s available for pre-order now on Amazon.

View Comments (4)